beauty, fashion, style

How to Paint Your Nails Like a Professional

20140425_211708-1

5 quick steps to looking polished

Painting your nails may seem like an impossible task, and if you are anything like me, you end up with more nail polish on your fingers than on your actual nails.

With more than a decade of practice, I have learned many helpful tips for achieving that salon-manicure look that I will now share with you.

The following 5 steps will teach you how to paint your nails like a professional.

1. Skip the base coat and buff instead

I used to diligently apply a base coat every time I painted my nails, but I finally realized it did not make my manicure last longer. Instead, I buff my nails lightly with a fine-grain nail file to rough up the surface. This gets rid of my nail ridges and helps the nail polish adhere.

2. Apply polish in three strokes

There is a specific process to applying each stroke. Always start at the base of your nail near the cuticle and drag the brush outward toward the tip of your nail. Paint the first stroke up the center of your nail. The second and third strokes go on either side of the center stroke. Repeat for all 10 nails.

3. Always apply two coats and seal the ends

After all 10 nails have one coat, apply a second coat for each nail. Then, drag the brush across the end of each nail to seal your manicure and prevent chipping.

4. Finish with a fast-drying top coat

This step is important if you do not want to smudge your manicure. I have a tendency to mess up my manicure because I do not have enough patience to sit still while my nails dry. A fast-drying top coat will help you avoid this problem.

5. Paint your nails at night

This is one of those handy tips that took me years to realize. After you paint your nails, and they are dry, take a shower to remove any evidence that you are not a professional. The hot water from the shower will loosen the nail polish around your fingers, and you can peel it off, leaving a fabulous manicure.

If you follow these 5 steps, you will learn how to paint your nails like a professional, and everyone will ask you where you got your nails done.

Standard

Leave a comment